Help2018-12-12T22:09:39+00:00

Help

HOW DO I CONTACT GOTCHA?

You can reach our Rider Experience team by calling or texting 909-351-3656 or emailing support@ridegotcha.com. We’d love to hear from you!

WHAT IS BIKE SHARE?

Bike share is fun, useful, 24/7 transportation system offering riders an easy alternative to owning or using a car. After downloading the app and creating an account, riders can pick up a bike from any of the convenient bike hubs, and return it to any other hub within the system area.

HOW IS IT DIFFERENT THAN RENTING BIKES?

Bike share is intended for point-to-point transportation. The difference in bike share versus bike renting is that it is completely self-sufficient and the user does not have to return the bike to the same location that it was picked up from. Our bikes also track the user’s calories burned, carbon dioxide emissions reduced, and money saved versus driving.

IS BIKE SHARE FOR ME?

We think bike share is for everyone. Whether you are heading to class, looking for something active to do on the weekends, or just want to ditch the car, bike sharing is for you.

HOW DOES IT WORK?

First, you need to register for an account. Riders can sign up for membership online or via the SoBi mobile app on a smartphone. Once registered, the map of hubs will indicate how many bikes are available at each one. When users sign up, they will be given an account number and 4-digit pin code. Simply enter the code and PIN on the back of the bike, unlock, and begin riding. When you arrive at your final destination, return and lock the bike at a designated hub. The bike is now available for others to use. Bikes can also be reserved 15 minutes in advance. Please note riders should always end their trip within the system area and the bike must always be securely locked to a bike rack when locking a bike or putting it on hold.

WHERE ARE THE MOBILITY HUBS LOCATED?

Please see our system map on the website or within the app for designated mobility hub areas.

DO I NEED TO TAKE THE U-LOCK WHEN I RIDE?

Yes. Always place the U-lock in the holster on the rear left side of the bike.

CAN I RESERVE A BIKE AHEAD OF TIME?

Yes! You can reserve a bike from the mobile app or https://app.socialbicycles.com up to 15 minutes before you pick up a bike, so it will be waiting for you when you arrive. Select a bike on the map, click the blue button ‘Reserve this bike’ or ‘Reserve a bike at this hub’. Click the green “Confirm” button. To cancel the reservation, tap on the red ‘Cancel’ button at the bottom of the screen. If you cancel before 1 minute, you won’t be penalized against your allotted free time. Beyond 1 minute, you will begin to use your allotted free time. After 15 minutes, the reservation expires and the bike becomes available for other users to rent.

HOW DO I END A RIDE?

To end your ride, lock a bike to a hub. Insert the U-lock into the two designated slots on the back side of the bike, pushing the lock in until it latches. Wait until you feel the click and see the “thank you” screen on the LCD display. You can end a ride by returning your bike to any hub with an open rack – you don’t have to bring it back to where you picked it up, making it ideal for one-way trips. Find available hubs on the mobile app.

HOW CAN I MAKE SURE THE BIKE IS LOCKED?

Confirm by tugging the U-lock in both directions to make sure it is latched. Look for the “Thank you” screen on the LCD display above the keypad.

CAN I PUT A “HOLD” ON MY BIKE WHILE I RUN ERRANDS?

Yes. There is a “hold” button on the bicycle’s keypad. Press this button and lock the bike around a bike rack to make a stop without ending your ride for up to 1 hour. Once back at the bike, just press “unlock” and enter your PIN code.

WHAT DO I DO IF THE HUB IS FULL AND I WANT TO END MY RIDE?

If possible, use the app to check rack availability at hubs before your ride. However, we understand this is not always ideal so in the case that the rack is full, lock the bike to itself and send us a quick email letting us know at support@ridegotcha.com.

WHAT IS A “LOCKED OUT OF HUB” FEE?

Users will be charged a $5 “Locked Out of Hub” fee when they lock the bike and end their ride at a non-designated hub. Please see system map for hub locations.

WHAT IS AN “OUT OF SYSTEM” FEE?

Our designated system area is visible on our map on the website as well as on the mobile app. If you ride a bike out of the system area, lock the bike, and end your ride there, you will be charged an “Out of System” fee. Feel free to ride the bikes anywhere but make sure to return them to the designated area when finished to avoid this fee.

WHO CAN JOIN?

Some systems are limited to riders with a specific email address (e.g. schoolname.edu). Please reference the location-specific information on the website for more details.

AM I REQUIRED TO WEAR A HELMET?

This varies according to state law. However, we strongly encourage and recommend all users wear helmets while riding.

DO I NEED A SMART PHONE?

No. You are able to register for a membership on a computer via our website, and once you are registered, you can simply approach the bike, enter your account and PIN, and then ride.